A Fresh New Start—and Brad Paisley

Life is unpredictable. There are so many things out of our control, and sometimes you just have to roll with the punches and follow your heart. My last day with FKM was Friday, and I have to say I am happy to be moving forward. Saying goodbye to a group of people that have truly impacted my life was really bitter sweet. On one hand, I am so excited for this next chapter in life. On the other hand, I really feel like they watched me grow up. During my time at FKM I started my first “big girl” job, moved four times, got engaged, bought a house, got married, and adopted Teddy. You can imagine how hard it was to part ways with such a supportive and encouraging group of colleagues. On top of this emotional parting, I also had a HUGE decision to make. I was offered a job with an amazing agency here in Dallas, but couldn’t help but feel dread. Back in January, I made the decision to start working towards my teaching certification. It took receiving an offer from another agency to realize that my heart isn’t in advertising anymore. So I am going full-steam ahead with teaching. And let me tell you- it is quite stressful in this current economy. I am placing my faith in God and following my heart!

So what do I do to fill my days now? That is a great question. I have been subbing at a private school I am DYING to get into, finishing projects around the house I have been putting off for six months, and hanging out with my new bestie- Teddy. Yesterday, we went to White Rock Lake for a walk. The weather was unbelievable and I wanted to take advantage of it. The problem with Teddy is that he is still only 5 pounds, and his little legs get tired pretty quickly.  I ended up carrying him for most of his “walk”. It was pretty hilarious.

 

Then we went to Home Depot. I needed paint samples and was not about to leave him in the car. I later told Jay about this and we decided that me bringing Teddy to Home Depot, is equivalent to Jay wearing his steel toed boots into Neimans. Which to be honest with you- he has done that 🙂 Hey- I knew what I was getting into when I married the guy! Fashion is just not up there on Jay’s priority list. Side story about fashion: I was reading a magazine advice column that I could relate to. A newlywed wife was complaining that her husband only wore tshirts and jeans. She wanted him to care more about what he wore, but didn’t want to be a nag. The magazine suggested she have him pick out a male style icon that he could replicate. I thought this was a great idea, and decided to test the waters with Jay. When I asked him who his male style icon was, he said “Brad Paisley. Maybe I should wear more flannel?” Failed attempt on my part.

Thanks for all of the encouraging thoughts, texts, phone calls and emails. They are so appreciated! What a blessing to have such an incredible support system in my life. Cheers to new beginnings!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

